BFCM A sound profile

A sound profile

A sound profile

Crédit Mutuel is a cooperative bank : the network of local banks is the key link in Crédit Mutuel democratic organization.

Crédit Mutuel Alliance Fédérale organization

Since its creation, participation and democracy have been at the heart of Crédit Mutuel's cooperative operations. These fundamental values are as strategic as the quality of its services. In France, the first Caisse de Crédit Mutuel was created in 1882 in La Wantzenau, near  Strasbourg, based on the banking model designed by Frédéric-Guillaume Raiffeisen (1818-1888) in the Rhineland.

The federations

130 years later, Crédit Mutuel is one of the leading banking players in Europe. Among Crédit Mutuel's 18 Federations, 14 of them have joined forces to pool their strengths and their resources. The Crédit Mutuel Alliance Fédérale is composed of the Federations of Crédit Mutuel Centre Est Europe, Sud-Est, Île-de-France, Savoie-Mont Blanc, Midi-Atlantique, Centre, Loire-Atlantique and Centre-Ouest, Normandie, Méditerranéen, Dauphiné-Vivarais, Anjou, Massif Central, Antilles Guyane and Nord Europe.

The 14 Crédit Mutuel federations have formed a common structure, Caisse Fédérale de Crédit Mutuel, which coordinates and structures the activities of the Caisses throughout the country.

The Banque Fédérative du Crédit Mutuel

Through Banque Fédérative du Crédit Mutuel, the Crédit Mutuel Alliance Fédérale owns the regional banks of Crédit Industriel et Commercial (CIC), the Cofidis Group, the Targobank networks in Germany and Spain, Beobank in Belgium and a number of subsidiaries serving the Group's various entities, specialised in finance, private management, development capital, insurance, real estate and technology services.

Banque Fédérative du Crédit Mutuel and its specialised subsidiaries support and diversify the activities of the Caisses du Crédit Mutuel and CIC.